Skip to content

Quick thought

December 23, 2008
tags:

‘Tis the season for remembering and appreciating the good in place of dwelling on the bad. With that in mind, I have a quick story.

One day, I was feeling a little tired and under the weather. I was home with the kids while Meg was out shopping, just kinda curled up on the couch with my arm hanging out over the armrest.

Shannon, our youngest, walks up to where my arm was hanging with a big smile on her face. I thought she was going after my coffee mug which was on the table beyond my dangling extremity, so I half-heartedly lifted it to block her from getting it. Instead, she leans over and plants a little kiss on my hand and runs away. Kids can melt your heart.

In the spirit of the holiday, next time she pokes me in the eye, gets gunk all over my glasses, head-butts my nose, takes everything out of the cupboard and places it on the floor, hides my keys, or head-butts my testicles, I will do my best to remember that little kiss and decide to keep her around for a little longer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed T. permalink
    December 23, 2008 10:06 am

    True Story: A buddy of mine named Josh has a 4 year old girl with a sick sense of humor. She walked up to him, asked him to close his eyes and then she gave him a peck on the cheek. They giggled, he felt good and smiled and all that good stuff. A minute later, she asked again for him to close his eyes and he played along. After a few seconds, he did not feel the peck but heard some odd noises that caused him to open his eyes and standing over him was his little girl with a bat over her head ready to swing it at him.

    The point of the story is: they love you, and they want to kill you at the same time…be warned! 🙂

    -Ed

  2. December 24, 2008 2:02 pm

    Heh. Kids, and for some unexplainable reason little girls, have the knack for head-butting their Dad’s balls. I’ve heard it time and time again. They seem to know. Good on ’em for future reference :)).

    You aren’t there yet, but a good friend of mine has daughters in the tweens…9 and 12. He was going to the Neshaminy Mall and he had one daughter on the phone to give me directions (within the mall). I asked him, “You’re daughter has to steer you around the mall on the phone?”. He said, “Yeah, that’s where they go and hand out in their slut outfits.” Good heavens. He knows it’s coming, but is fighting it every step of the way.

    Happy Festivus to you and yours, my friend.

Leave a Reply

