Skip to content

The Atheist Thanksgiving

November 26, 2008

The Friendly Atheist, in response to an article on Times-Herald.com, asks the question: What are you, as an atheist, thankful for? Specifically, the question is in response to the fairly ignorant opening of the article:

Thanksgiving must be a terrible time for atheists. They have no God to thank.

They do not have the privilege of gathering with family and friends to express gratitude by saying: “Praise God from whom all blessings flow.” An atheist on his deathbed faces serious uncertainties. Gazing upward, he pleads: “Oh God, if there is a God, please save my soul — if I have one.”

Jim Griffith seems to imply that if you don’t believe in a god to be thankful to, then you have nothing to be thankful for. This is such a stretch of the imagination, that it pains me to think that this guy writes for a living and I get nothing for running this shit site. It is the above error in logic that I intend to refute, while pointing out one simple fact that elude many of religious America: atheist are people just like you.

So, I can’t think of a better way to battle Mr. Griffith’s ignorance than to make a list of the things that I am thankful for. Careful, there’s a jump coming!

I am thankful:

  • for my wonderful wife, for my two bright daughters, for my crazily breeding fish, and even the cat that doesn’t like me too much
  • that my house is always filled with enough love to more than balance out the normal stress of living
  • that, even though I’m not gathering to pray over dinner, I’m still spending Thanksgiving with my family
  • for my job, which keeps a steady stream of enough income along with Meg’s to keep us housed, fed, clothed, and entertained.
  • for all of my wonderful friends. You keep life interesting!
  • for my health. Although it hasn’t been perfect, I’m still alive and kicking. The cat.
  • for Meg’s tolerance and support of my many hobbies
  • for those hobbies, which keep my mind going and my curiosity satisfied
  • for the many bloggers whose work I read. You all keep me informed and laughing!
  • for the readers of this blog. You make it worth it!
  • that this country actually has the chance to move in a totally different and positive direction. As long as Obama doesn’t fuck up.
  • for my heart, which gives such a wonderful range of emotions, and for my brain which helps me understand why.

There’s so much more to be thankful for, but those are the ones that jump right to mind. I’m sure this sounds very empty and unfulfilling to a guy like Jim Griffith since I don’t enjoy all of this with the Big Sky Fairy in mind, but I have to say that I am completely fulfilled by, enjoying, and loving this life that I have!

Thanks to all of you, and thanks for all of you! Have a happy, gluttonous, and love-filled Thanksgiving!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 9:14 am

    Excellent post, I couldn’t agree with you more. I never thought of being thankful for being healthy enough to kick the cats, I have five but I’m not going to kick them though, THANKFULLY I think they love me as much as I love them. Again, great post.

  2. November 27, 2008 9:45 am

    Thank you, Brian!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. November 27, 2008 11:04 am

    Great post ! I am not sure what my religious inclinations are; I think I may be somewhat of a pantheist, but tend not to think about it too much. Too much living to do, and live is so very dang short.

    Happy Turkey Day to you and your family. You have much to be thankful for !

  4. November 27, 2008 4:56 pm

    That I do Shirley!

    Happy Sad Turkey Day to you and Chainsaw!

Leave a Reply

