Skip to content

President-elect Obama

November 5, 2008

There’s two things sweeter than those words: President Obama and tits.

After the second time I had decided to go to bed last night, yet stayed up later anyways, the amazing feeling that I had just witnessed history swept me. I had often wondered what I would be able to tell my grandchildren about the times that I lived in. My parents had Vietnam and the Hippy revolution, my grandparents had the Great Depression and World Wars. Our generation had just one thing up until last night: 9/11.

Until last night, we didn’t have a good historical event to balance out the tragedy of the terror attacks of 2001. But last night, and amazing thing happened. Not only did the citizens of the U.S. stand overwhelmingly against the horrors of the current administration, we elected the first African-American president. Think about that. We witnessed a first. A good first, a great first! That was an historical event, and we watched it happen!

Discussions of history aside, and the more critical importance of this election is that the U.S. voted for a huge swing in how this country is going to be run. The Democrats have the majority, and the onus is on them to heal the divide and get the country functioning again. If any one of them think this change is going to be easy on any of them, they are sorely mistaken. There’s a lot of work that needs to be done, and they’re going to have to get it done right or rish losing it all again in 4 years. If they fail, I’ll be one of the ones voting them out. There is no room for excuses, complaints, or whining. They’ve promised change for my vote, and I’m going to hold them to their end of the bargain.

I won’t congratulate any of the winners of last night’s elections. I can’t do that, because they didn’t win an easy time. The next years will be marked by hard work and struggle, and I don’t envy the winners their time ahead. I will congratulate the citizens of the U.S. for taking a bold stand for a new direction, and for making that dream realized. We knew things had to change, we had one way to do it, and we rallied and made it happen. For the first time in almost a decade, I feel hope after an election. It’s a nice feeling to have!

So, congratualtions, fellow Americans! I am confident and I hope for the future.

I hope.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 3:40 pm

    It wasn’t until after I shut down the laptop and turned off the TV that what we had achieved really hit me. I am so very proud of my country. Nice post, Joe.

  2. Meggie permalink
    November 5, 2008 7:18 pm

    As usual, hon, very well said.

  3. November 9, 2008 8:26 am

    Joe! I’ll just say that I’ll agree with you about ONE of those “two sweet things!” 😉

  4. November 10, 2008 5:04 am

    See, on DE Lib, they’d just assume you were a gay McCainite 🙂

Leave a Reply

