Skip to content

And we’re back

November 3, 2008

Well, somewhere in the midst of all the Halloween frivolity, I seem to remember some kind of election coming up tomorrow. I have a little something to say about that.

House District 21, this is for you! I got the chance to usurp some of Mike’s valuable foot time while he was visiting houses in my neighborhood. I saw Mike driving around for the better part of three days, and I wouldn’t be surprised if he met a good deal of us face-to-face.

When Mike dropped by, it seems that he thought he was going to do a quick lit drop to an uninterested Democrat, as I had my Markell sign on the lawn. However, Mike got  me instead, and graciously elected (pun!) to talk a couple of issues with me. The decider for me, other than the fact that he was meeting people face-to-face and I hadn’t even seen a Creedon volunteer in the area, was his views on open government. Mike was well informed on the issue and seemed passionate in his support of bringing the GA under FOIA as a public body. When I mentioned John Kowalko’s constant fight in this regard, he mentioned his high esteem for John based on John’s good ethics and boundless energy in keeping the GA clean. He also mentioned the complete travesty that is the “desk drawer veto”.

Mike gave me the impression that he would be a tireless ally to John and Karen Peterson in getting the Assembly opened up to public scrutiny. In Delaware, I don’t know if we have a more important issue. For that, Mike gets my vote, and he should get yours, too.

Now, some may wonder why I chose this topic with which to break my month-long silence on politics. It’s because no one else is talking about it. We’ve seen a bit about the 21st on DE Lib and kavips, but just as a glossing-over, taking the Democrat’s win as a foregone conclusion, which I found odd, since we’ve had a Republican representing us for years, Pam Meiers, and if she wasn’t moving to a new location, this year would have seen her re-election.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. arthur permalink
    November 4, 2008 2:07 pm

    I’ll tell you why creedon didnt get my vote. in one 5 day period i received 13 pieces of mail from her. up to 4 in one day.

  2. November 4, 2008 2:16 pm

    That does show a notable lack of good campaign management. If you look at the distributon of campaign signs, well, I see an awful lot of yellow out there!

Trackbacks

  1. Outside the Perimeter: 2008 Election Stats « kavips

Leave a Reply

