Skip to content

Odd old world

September 10, 2008

So, the candidates that I like have been overwhelmingly successful in the primaries: Jack Markell, Barack Obama, KHN…

I don’t even know who I am anymore! After the elections in 2000, 2004, 2006, I’ve been used to crushing defeats and fear as to where the country/state is going. Now, I know there’s still more to go, and I’m looking forward to actually being able to vote in the generals. I’m also hoping to gather up the time and motivation to donate more than just money to the campaigns that I support.

All I need for the next month is good sleep, no new sicknesses, and to defeat the Last Days of Elections Malaise. Just two months, and it will be done, and I can’t wait becasue I’m sick to death of it. I’m sick of the infighting, the outfighting, the demonization of the other side, and I’m sick of looking at all the candidates. So much so, that I had to half-pretend my joy that Markell, my favorite candidate, won. I felt more relief that the primaries were done than I did that Markell won. That says something.

I’m even tired of writing about it, and I know that’s showing. I’m having to force myself to write about every subject, and it’s showing in the quality of what I write and the quantity of the content, including my comments on other blogs. I probably should have used my hiatus a little better.

At any rate, here’s my shallow predictions of what the next few months hold for us. The Palin bounce will even out by next week. By that time, both candidates for the Presidency will start focusing more on issues despite McCains assertion that this election is not about them. Biden will win a debate against Palin, but he won’t crush her. Obama will crush McCain. Election day will be close with Obama squeaking out a win in the end.

Markell will soundly defeat Lee despite the fact that Lee will finally start campaigning to the general populace. Protack will get 2% of the vote as an Independant. Castle will trounce KHN unless he has more health issues brought on by the elections. Matt Denn will soundly defeat Copeland. The voter turnout will rise by at least 3% for the republicans, and turnout for the Dems will hit 30%.

Election Day will end, and the real trials of enacting real change will begin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meggie permalink
    September 10, 2008 1:26 pm

    I still think KHN has a shot….eventually people gotta realize the man is older than dirt and needs to go. Does the name Strom Thurman resonate?

  2. September 10, 2008 4:51 pm

    I am glad that the Obama/Biden camp finally wants to talk about issues. It should be refreshing !

    “Biden will win a debate against Palin, but he won’t crush her. Obama will crush McCain. Election day will be close with Obama squeaking out a win in the end.”

    Barring a major crash-and-burn, this is Obama’s election to lose.

Leave a Reply

