Skip to content

Peach Festival Shenanigans!

August 16, 2008

It is a gorgeous say out, so the family and I took a trip below the canal for the Middletown Peach Festival. There was music, vendors, balloons, moonbounces, and political booths but surprisingly few actual peaches. Wierd.

While we were waiting to get our hotdogs, I bumped into Jason Scott and we got to bullshit for a bit. I always like to see folks face to face. Jason was carrying his Markell sign and let me know that the famous RSmitty was over at the Cathcart booth.

After I ate the worst hotdog I’ve ever had in my life, we moseyed on over to Markell’s booth and I picked up a sign of my own and the lovely Mrs. Madjeski and I also signed up to volunteer. We then hit Obama’s booth for more free stuff, did something that I’ll talk about in a minute, then headed down Cathcart’s way to meet Randy.

Finally meeting RSmitty was great. We talked about blogs (of course), and Randy clued me in on something that had been nagging the back of my mind since getting there. See, the festival is set up with the main thoroughfare on Main Street, with more stuff on small side streets. What was nagging at me was that, walking down Main, I saw booths for Obama, Markell, and several other Dems. Where the hell were the Republicans?

It turns out that Rep. Bethany Hall-Long had placed all the Democrats in the main areas, and relegated the Republican candidates to the cramped and sometimes difficult to find side streets! How ethical is that? The best part is that the challenger to Hall-Long’s seat, Martha Sturtevant, was tucked away off of even the side streets. I never would have even seen her booth if my daughter didn’t need to take a piss. That’s right, Sturtevant’s booth was behind the port-a-potty! Lovely, huh?

I was shocked that the boths were set up like this on purpose. It’s just so sleazy. Randy and I talked about this for a bit, then it was time for ice cream. Thanks for the water, man!

Anyways, I guess it’s time to talk about the tidbit that I hinted about earlier when I was in Obama’s booth. I didn’t just get a Markell sign to put in my yard today, I also wanted to do more to get him elected. So, I registered as a Democrat today. You heard it here first! For now, I’m no longer an Independent, but a proudish Democrat, on paper at least. We’ll see what happens when Jack is safely in the Governors seat and the next election with a good candidate comes along! If Delaware would open up the primaries, I wouldn’t have to pull this kind of shit.

Joe Madjeski (D-Newark)

UPDATE: I was incorrect in saying that Sturtevant was running against BHL. I should have checked that info. MY apologies!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed T. permalink
    August 16, 2008 4:14 pm

    Ahhh, to be cast aside on a side street no less. Sometimes it is too easy my friend! I think if there is something you really want, you should have to seek it out instead of it being simply fed to you like so much delicious cobbler. Maybe that’s why they chose to have the Dem’s in the middle of Fairy World and the GOP off where people had to work to seek out some info…

    Oh and BTW, dinner was great last night, thanks for the offer!

    -Ed T. (R-Newark)

  2. August 16, 2008 4:31 pm

    Interestingly, peach cobbler is exactly what I wanted today and there was none to be seen. I think someone told the cobblers I was coming and they fled.

  3. Ed T. permalink
    August 16, 2008 5:00 pm

    Damn, no cobbler? Glad I did not go and spent the day driving 2.5 hours each way to go to Hershey Park to do absolutely nothing…

  4. August 17, 2008 7:50 am

    Hey, great post Joe. WOW. BHL is awful.

  5. August 17, 2008 9:00 pm

    It was great meeting you, Joe. Thanks for making the effort!

    After you left for the ice cream (did you get the Peach ice cream???), we got some more feedback from self-proclaimed Democrats that they were embarrased over the set up you reported. Obviously, some thought we deserved it (LOL), but the majority weren’t happy. Some went so far to swear BHL lost their vote. Given her history there since 2002, that is amazing (and pleasing to my ears)!

  6. Jerophonic permalink
    August 17, 2008 10:37 pm

    Hate to burst your bubble, Joe, but March 31 was the last day to change your party registration in order to vote in the September primary. Saturday was the last day to register if you weren’t registered at all:

    http://electionsncc.delaware.gov/2008g/2008_calendar.shtml

    But hey, better late than never!

  7. August 18, 2008 3:54 am

    Good! I hope BHL does lose ot Sturtevant, and I hope she knows that it’s due to her smarmy setup of the Peach Festival.

    Jerophonic,
    The people taking registrations thought that switching party affiliation would be valid on the same date. Oh, well. I guess just donations, volunteering, and voting for Markell in the general will have to be enough.

  8. August 18, 2008 1:46 pm

    Thread buster. Looking for more insight from your extended family overseas. By the way, thanks for your first hand reports…. Hope all are “still” safe.

  9. Actually permalink
    August 19, 2008 7:13 am

    Uhm, sorry to rain on this parade but BHL isn’t running against Martha whoever… she’s not even running for that State Rep seat…

    You somehow managed to be wrong with every single thing you said in this post… a notable accomplishment.

    Why don’t you try again…

  10. August 19, 2008 10:55 am

    Actually,

    You are correct about BHL not running against Sturtevant. I should have checked my information. This post will be updated.

    As to wrong about everything? I’m afraid You’ll have to be more specfic. Were there peach cobblers that I didn’t see? Was I imagining things when I saw all of the R booth tucked away on the side streets?

    Thanks for pointing out my error!

  11. outside observer permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:33 am

    Joe M,

    I would like to clear some things about the Peach Festival. BHL has no control over what locations politicians are assigned. Most of the Republicans were not announced candidates until well after the sites were assigned. My suggestion is to register early to get good sites. And it is most certainly laughable that BHL would lose votes over such trivial nonsense. If she were running for the 8th house seat again she would have won with 75% of the vote again. Time will tell if she wins the 10th senate seat.

  12. August 19, 2008 11:40 am

    OO,

    I have the word of a friend against that of an anonymous poster. I need more than contradiction.

  13. outside observer permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:58 am

    Well, you can call the co-chairs of the peach festival Helen Alford or David Matsen at XXX-XXXX to confirm how they are assigned. I am sure they will tell you it is based on when the forms are received.

    (I have removed the phone number in case it was a private number – Joe)

  14. August 19, 2008 1:33 pm

    I have called and left a voicemail at the provided number.

    In the future, I ask that any phone numbers provided be sent via email so they are not subject to abuse.

    Thanks!

  15. August 20, 2008 8:22 am

    ‘Fraid not, OO. Is that also why the parade marshalls, the American Legion (who have been non-supportive of BHL for a long time) were at the butt-end of Cass St? You going to try to say they were late-comers? BHL gets on the committee and for the first time, all the R’s just happened to be placed, by coincidence, on side streets and back-parking lots. FWIW, OO, it’s not just me saying this, nor was there only just one or two complaints. There were several, and by known RD8 and RD9 democrats. Do I think it will be the straw that breaks her electibility? No, not at all. Do I think there is some embarrassment? Yes, to a degree. It’s petty politics, something she has played from day 1.

  16. August 20, 2008 9:27 am

    Okay, here’s the deal. I am trying to get to the bottom of this rumor. I’ve left a VM with the Middletown Historical Society to find out how the spots were assigned and who was on the committee to assign them. According to RSmitty, BHL was on the committee, so she DID have something to do with the assignments.

    I’ve contacted the Markell campaign, who said that the spots were assigned by the committee, and is trying to find out when they sent in their application. I’ve also left a VM with the Sturtevant campaign to find out when they sent in their registration.

    Unfortunately, since I am a nobody in the DE politics scene, I could use some help with contacts for the campaigns that were there in order to find their registration date. If anyone has information or contacts, please email me: jmadjeski@gmail.com

    I would also like to contact the American Legion, RSmitty, so if you could give me a name, I’d appreciate it.

  17. August 20, 2008 11:16 am

    sent you an email…

  18. outside observer permalink
    August 22, 2008 11:04 am

    Joe,

    Any word from anyone at the Historical Society?

  19. August 22, 2008 11:07 am

    OO,

    Yes, I have talked to them, and I’m putting that info together with information that I’m trying to get from other sources.

    To everyone, I’m sorry this is taking a while, but I don’t have the resources that other bloggers do, so please bear with me me while I get this together.

Leave a Reply

