Skip to content

Maybe it’s the calm after the high…

August 14, 2008

Relationships have gotten a lot less personal in recent years. We have a tool that gives unlimited access to the thoughts and feeling of those that use it, but still we drift apart. I have to say that I’m upset.

I’m upset that although I know people read the article, not a single person left a note of encouragement or comfort about my family in Georgia. I’m upset that, even though I posted a story that everyone is allright, I’m certain that no one will offer any words of sympathy.

I know I’m not the most read blog in DE, but I know folks do read it, and I don’t know why no one has offered the simplest words of comfort. Maybe the elections are more important. I don’t know.

Just something I’m thinking about…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2008 4:08 pm

    Shit, this upsets me too. My only excuse is that I read both posts pretty much at the same time…the one in trouble and the one OK…..so…..that’s my excuse. But I was thinking of you and your family. Dangit, now I feel like a schmuck.

    “We have a tool that gives unlimited access to the thoughts and feeling of those that use it, but still we drift apart.”

    That’s ironic, isn’t it? I have been thinking the same thing, and it saddens me. Nobody, in the end, really seems to give a shit. Or maybe the medium is too anonymous for any real humanity.

    A thought: more get-togethers like Tommywonk’s fundraiser, or more personal contact in general. Sure these internet tubes are cool, but there is nothing like sharing a brew or two with a human being. Despite political and philosophical differencees, bloggers tend to have similar personalities in a way. We tend to forget that. We think words are important, but really they are not. What is important is the look and the smile and the handshake and the hug.

    Isn’t that how we started in this world? We need to get back.

  2. August 15, 2008 7:07 pm

    Well, I didn’t mean to make anyone feel like a schmuck. Or maybe I did, I’m not sure.

    Certainly not you, Shirley. I think you make some very good points. It’s easy to get into the thought pattern that the people you interact with online are little more than a string of characters. Seeing people face-to-face is a very good thing when a community such as the DE blogosphere grows to the size it has.

    Maybe we should start a Drinking Blogially (name subject to change) just for the chance to meet everyone and give us al a chance to humanize ourselves a bit.

  3. August 16, 2008 5:12 am

    I think that’s a plan ! Hey, maybe sometime after Labor Day we can do dinner or something.

  4. jason330 permalink
    August 16, 2008 7:19 am

    Hey Joe,

    I wasn’t tracking on this because I’ve been struck by the same kind of myopia that I have accused others of.

    I’m glad you family is okay and thanks for the wake up call. I need to get myself educated on this stuff.

  5. August 19, 2008 7:43 am

    Joe: What Jason said. My apologies. 😦

  6. Paul permalink
    August 20, 2008 11:18 am

    Your post was chilling and personal. It brought it home.
    I do appreciate your recent post, and the realization on the power of the phone for you to stay in touch internationally.
    We are all connected. And concerned, I hope your family stays ok.
    It is also ironic that the closer we are in proximity, the further we stay apart.

Leave a Reply

