Skip to content

Sinking to their level

August 9, 2008

I wrote a series of articles a while back on the movie Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed. In the second article, I described some of the duplicitous tactics that the producers used to make their film. These included:

  • Using a fake production company name
  • Deliberately misstating the purpose of the film as a look at the division between science and religion and using a fake movie title to trick pro-evolution (also read, “smart”) scientists into interviews
  • Editing these interviews to make the scientists seem sinister or inept

Keep those in mind, because now I’m going to jump to another film that will be out soon. Religulous is a film by noted skeptic and anti-theist Bill Maher is supposed to point out the absurd and ridiculous beliefs of some religious folks.

Now, I think Bill Maher is an asshole, but much like Keith Olbermann, that opinion does not lead me to dismiss Maher’s arguments or his undeniable talent at pointing out the absurd. Because of that, I was looking forward to this brilliant asshole’s movie. Until about 10 minutes ago.

10 minutes ago, I read an LA Times article about this movie, and I was surprised to see at the end of the article the following:

On how he got people to talk to him: “It was simple: We never, ever, used my name. We never told anybody it was me who was going to do the interviews. We even had a fake title for the film. We called it ‘A Spiritual Journey.’

On the element of surprise: …The crew would set up and at the last second, when the cameras were already rolling, I would show up. So either they’d be seen on camera leaving the interview and lose face or they’d have to talk to me.

On his encounter with Arkansas Sen. Mark Pryor, who tells Maher he believes the biblical account that Earth was created 5,200 years ago: “He’s not going to be happy with this movie. I suspect he’s going to say that the editing is not favorable to him [laughs]. And he’s not completely wrong about that.

Does that sound familiar? Oh yeah, it’s the same dirty shit pulled by the Expelled crew!

Thanks, Bill Maher, for stooping to the level of the people that you were poking fun of. Thanks for a notable lack of ethics in dealing with the religious. Thanks for enforcing the stereotype that non-theists will do anything to denigrate the other side. Thanks for publicly bringing us down a peg. I won’t be giving my money to a man who has used such contemptible deceit in it’s making.

You asshole.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

