Skip to content

Their Milkshake is Better Than Yours

March 28, 2008

There are some things that are absolutely great about living in Delaware: the one-degree of separation we all experience, Deerhead Hot Dogs, Deer Park, the beach, but most importantly to me is the annual rite of spring when The Dairy Palace reopens.

On Thursday, March 27th, The Dairy Palace takes the plywood off its windows and starts making the best damn milkshake in Delaware for 51 years running. If you haven’t experience the soft ice cream milkshake plain or mixed with a candy of your choosing, you have not lived. Seriously, you haven’t.

This Thursday, after lunch, I will journey down to Basin Road in New Castle, mosey up to the counter and order my usual, a medium vanilla milkshake. I can’t wait. See you there.

Update

What the hell? Last night after dinner, I took the wife and boy down from North Wilmington to New Castle for a milkshake and the windows were still shuttered at The Dairy Palace. My wife saw a notice about the opening the News Journal and the mother-in-law heard that The Dairy Palace was on on JBR.

I just got off the phone with them and they are open now as of 1:20 PM on Friday.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2008 4:59 pm

    And I thought I was the only one………….

    Don’t forget about the storms of June bugs pounding the lights overhead while one waits in line………………

  2. Meggie permalink
    March 26, 2008 8:11 pm

    Thanks for the heads up! I didn’t even get to Dairy Palace last year…have to get Joe out a little more….. so tomorrow, huh??? I think I can work that in to my schedule. You know what…come to think of it, I’ve never had a Deerhead hot dog, either…….

  3. March 26, 2008 9:31 pm

    Hey, I leave the house!

    Sometimes…

  4. KLT permalink
    March 27, 2008 11:42 am

    I’ve never been to the Dairy Palace either. Have to try it sometime.

    I’ve had Deerhead hotdogs tho’. My advice: Good hotdog but steer clear of the special sauce. Others will argue but I don’t find it terribly appetizing.

  5. Tom permalink
    July 16, 2008 10:38 pm

    Try the Ice Cream Corral – just around the corner on 273. Near the old historic part of New Castle. Only about 2 minutes from The Palace. They have lots of seating with umbrellas and the prices are a heck of a lot cheaper. They have hard ice cream too! Many cool sundaes and other frozen treats from the good old days. They are open from 11-10. Cool atmosphere

Trackbacks

  1. Outside The Perimeter: The “kavipsian” Awards « kavips

Leave a Reply

