Skip to content

DMX on Barack Obama

March 17, 2008

Get ready, I’m about to serve you up a giant plate of stupid with a frosty glass of ignorance. And profanity…. lots of profanity. This is from an interview that rapper DMX did for the hip-hop magazin, XXL. Enjoy!

Are you following the presidential race?
Not at all.

You’re not? You know there’s a Black guy running, Barack Obama and then there’s Hillary Clinton.
His name is Barack?!

Barack Obama, yeah.
Barack?!

Barack.
What the fuck is a Barack?! Barack Obama. Where he from, Africa?

Yeah, his dad is from Kenya.
Barack Obama?

Yeah.
What the fuck?! That ain’t no fuckin’ name, yo. That ain’t that nigga’s name. You can’t be serious. Barack Obama. Get the fuck outta here.

You’re telling me you haven’t heard about him before.
I ain’t really paying much attention.

I mean, it’s pretty big if a Black…
Wow, Barack! The nigga’s name is Barack. Barack? Nigga named Barack Obama. What the fuck, man?! Is he serious? That ain’t his fuckin’ name. Ima tell this nigga when I see him, “Stop that bullshit. Stop that bullshit” [laughs] “That ain’t your fuckin’ name.” Your momma ain’t name you no damn Barack.

So you’re not following the race. You can’t vote right?
Nope.

Is that why you’re not following it?
No, because it’s just—it doesn’t matter. They’re gonna do what they’re gonna do. It doesn’t really make a difference. These are the last years.

But it would be pretty big if we had a first Black president. That would be huge.
I mean, I guess…. What, they gon’ give a dog a bone? There you go. Ooh, we have a Black president now. They should’ve done that shit a long time ago, we wouldn’t be in the fuckin’ position we in now. With world war coming up right now. They done fucked this shit up then give it to the Black people, “Here you take it. Take my mess.”

Right, exactly.
It’s all a fuckin’ setup. It’s all a setup. All fuckin’ bullshit. All bullshit. I don’t give a fuck about none of that.

We could have a female president also, Hillary Clinton.
I mean, either way it doesn’t matter. I don’t care. No one person is directly affected by which president, you know, so what does it matter.

Yeah, but the country is.
I guess. The president is a puppet anyway. The president don’t make no damn decisions.

The president…they don’t have that much authority basically?
Nah, never.

But Bush pretty much…
You think Bush is making fuckin’ decisions?

He did, yeah, he fucked up the country.
He act like he making decisions. He could barely speak! He could barely fuckin’ speak!
Can’t be serious. He ain’t making no damn decisions.

Well Barack has a good chance of winning so that might be something.
Good for him, good for him.

So, this would mark the first time that the term “nigga” was posted on my blog. I’m not sure how I feel about that.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 7:18 pm

    LOL. Check out Tracey Morgan’s Barack commentary on SNL. Fantastic.

    http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/video/play.shtml?mea=229454

  2. March 18, 2008 1:40 pm

    O.M.G.!!!

    This is a magazine? Clearly no editor.

    Bush can’t speak? This guy makes Dubya sound like a Rhodes scholar.

  3. Chainsaw permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:44 pm

    I’m from an area in North Central Florida and we refer to ourselves as, “Florida Crackers.”
    Now you have the word “Cracker” on your blog.
    Are ya feelin’ more Fair and Balanced?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florida_cracker

  4. March 18, 2008 5:48 pm

    *whew*

    Thank you, Chainsaw 🙂

  5. Meggie permalink
    March 18, 2008 8:13 pm

    ROFLMAO, Chainsaw.

    Thanks for the laugh tonight. And thank you, honey, for the intellectual commentary…

  6. cassandra m permalink
    March 19, 2008 1:56 pm

    I don’t think that I would be overly worried about the appearance of the word “nigga” in an interview with a rapper (his mama ain’t name him DMX!). What is unsettling though, is that your WordPress theme name (at least according to the tiny note at the bottom of my screen) is Mandingo.

    That, right there, is a conspiracy theory waiting to happen.

    😛

  7. G Rex permalink
    March 20, 2008 4:22 pm

    Marvelous! I wonder what DMX would have said if the interviewer had mentioned that Barack Obama’s middle name is Hussein?

  8. March 23, 2008 8:49 am

    “What is unsettling though, is that your WordPress theme name (at least according to the tiny note at the bottom of my screen) is Mandingo.

    That, right there, is a conspiracy theory waiting to happen.”

    Cass, I’m afraid that I have to admit that you have me confused. 🙂

    What’s so bad about “Mandingo”?

  9. cassandra m permalink
    March 24, 2008 5:57 pm

    Oh dear. This will teach me to leave my cultural references at home, where they can’t hurt anybody.

    Mandingo was an exploitation film that depicts a plantation-era story that ended up being an explicit inventory of every stupid stereotype of the era (I probably don’t have to list these, right?) The violence, rape and sex caused abit of a sensation at the time (this was one of the few movies I was asked to not see by my parents and I didn’t until sometime later), but really ended up as something of a laughingstock. Comics and comedy shows would do sendups of this and it got to the point where you could just say Mandingo and folks would get the funny. Among some cultural critics, though, it became the new Birth of a Nation. Its status as a laughingstock is sort of uncomfortable, given some of this film’s imagery, but sometimes the best way to showing up the sheer stupidity of stereotypes is to laugh at them.

    The tragedy of this movie is that it starred the very great James Mason, and watching him play in this thing was painful.

    OK so I’ll just go back to lurking now…..

  10. March 24, 2008 7:12 pm

    Unfortunately, my knowledge of film is a weak point, but don’t let that convince you to not comment, Cass 🙂

    It does make me wonder at the developers choice of name for this theme, though!

Leave a Reply

