Skip to content

Short-sightedness is still a voter issue

March 2, 2008

I don’t get it. In an election that could not be more important, people are still using race and gender as the deciding factor. For the first time in 8 years, we are going to have a change in executive leadership with candidates who can reverse a lot of the damage the Bushco has inflicted on the U.S., yet some voters can’t get past the fact that we have a black man, a white man, and a white woman running.

One might ask the dumbass voters, “What about the issues?” Does it matter to them that the Democrats have key differences in their policies on healthcare? On NAFTA? On the War in Iraq? Or does it only matter that the candidate is your favored color or gender?

Listen, I think it would be fantastic if there was a woman running for president had a favorable record on the war, or wanted to bring the government back together, or didn’t propose a nanny-state mandate on healthcare. In fact, I think it would be fair to say that I couldn’t give a rat’s ass what race or gender a candidate is, so long as that candidate fits my perspective of “right on the issues”.

From the article, feminist activist and Chair of the Dallas County Democrats Darlene Ewing has this to say:

“They’re running to the rock star, to the momentum, to the excitement,” said Ewing, a family law attorney who chairs the Dallas County Democratic Party. “And I am worried that if Hillary doesn’t get elected, I am never going to see a woman president in my lifetime. I do think her chances are slipping away, and it [ticks] me off.”

Can you think of anything more short-sighted and self-centered than this? Or am I an idiot for wanting to see a President who inspires hope and confidence in our government? A President who consistently decried the War in Iraq. A President who is willing to meet with all heads of state. Should I instead be pissed that the white guy doesn’t stand a chance of winning?

Billie Jean King is quoted in TFA:

“I see my whole life going down the drain. A cute young guy comes in and sweeps away all the hard work that the older woman has done.”

Holy melodrama, Batman! Hey, Billie, rather than calling it quits on the whole life thing, maybe you could continue your work inspiring more women that may want to be a Presidential candidate one day. I’m just sayin’.

Maybe I’m being a little too harsh, having never been in a position where my demographic (white guys that Donviti hates)wasn’t presented. I can understand them wanting to see a black or female president; hell, I’d like to see that in my lifetime. However, that’s not going to keep me from voting for the person who I think would be the best President. If a woman who I agree with puts herself out there, and is the best person for the job, she gets my vote, plain and simple.

But it won’t be because of her gender. Ever. My vote is worth more to me than that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly Stevens permalink
    March 2, 2008 4:07 pm

    Your article is insulting to the work Obama has done his entire life. Yes his life story is more compelling than Clinton, but he is a leader and it is rude to make him appear a star, with no history in service. How dare you.

    All of the hard work of Senator Clinton has not all come to good results. She has a negative streak and clearly did not have the skills to get health care reform as a first lady.

    She did not listen to the republican weapons inspector that said that there were no weapons of mass destruction, that I read his articles. I listened to his interviews. Where was she? She was hiding from NYC voters that wanted any Arabs dead. She voted for the authorization while Barack Obama was on the streets protesting the popular beginning of this war. This war is the most important issue in the campaign.

    She has been a senator more years than Obama, but he was in government, while she was married to government. She was a private lawyer and a good one from what I hear. I am not a Clinton hater. I bought and read all of her books. I have family in Arkansas, and Illinois. I also used to be a Republican!

    Her sniping comments and negative ads are deplorable. I start to feel sorry for her, as the primary is slipping away from her. She is qualified and deserves to win, but Obama deserves it more, and is just as qualified.

    Senator Clinton is a poor public speaker. She often keeps the same nasal tone and sounds a bit like a crow. She should have invested money in a speech and vocal coach, rather than negative ads and ugly comments.

    Clinton sunk her own ship in this primary. She would have won, if a better candidate was not waiting to take it from her. His name is Obama.

  2. March 2, 2008 4:34 pm

    Hi, and welcome to MB-A.

    Pleasantries aside, what the fuck are you talking about? I barely mentioned Obama, except to relate the point of the article: Voting based on race or gender is short-sighted. In fact, his name isn’t even mentioned.

    I’m gonna give you some 80s wisdom, Kelly.

    Reading is Fundamental
    Knowledge is Power

    I suggest that you read the article again, then read some of the others with the Barack Obama tag, where I give my unflinching support to the Senator. Then, read some with the Hillary Clinton tag, where I make some of the same points that you have above.

    However, I doubt that will happen. You seem to be a fairly radical supporter of Senator Obama, with little use for independant thought and a sketchy grasp on literacy. Although I will appreciate your vote for Sen. Obama, as I will all of the others that will win him the nomination, I would suggest you set your critical thinking dial to “high” and your unthinking invective dial to “low” before commenting on someone’s blog for the first time.

  3. March 2, 2008 6:28 pm

    Obama on 60 minutes tonight!

  4. March 3, 2008 1:47 pm

    I just read the first comment . . . what a laugh.

    Anyway, after reading the article, I have this to say . . . If John McCain is not elected President this November, it is a sign of disrespect to our elders. And, when would a old white man get another chance to become President?

Leave a Reply

