Skip to content

Angry gods to eat moon tomorrow

February 19, 2008

Compliments of Tom’s Astronomy Blog, we have the excellent news of a full lunar eclipse tomorrow night! The eclipe will begin at 20:43, be in totality from 22:01 to 22:51, then end at 00:09 on the 21st. For those who aren’t into 24-hr timestamps, those time are, repsectively: 8:43PM, 10:01PM, 10:51PM, and 12:01AM.

The NASA Eclipse Home Page has a site dedicated to tomorrow’s eclipe. Check it out here. It includes the below visual aid to the eclipse timing:

I’m going to try to get some pics of the eclipse and will post as I get them.

UPDATE: The Bad Astronomer also notes the eclipse with the added information that this is the last total lunar eclipse we’ll see until 2010.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 12:58 pm

    Totally cool ! My S.O. is a total astronomy freak (among other freaky things about him). I e-mailed him this post.

    As an interesting aside, he met one of his best friends outside of a bar on Marsh Rd. The dude said the word “penumbra”, and my S.O. was the only one who knew what it was. They have been friends ever since.

  2. Meggie permalink
    February 19, 2008 2:06 pm

    Guess I know what we’re watching tomorrow…..so will Erin be staying up?

  3. February 19, 2008 2:09 pm

    We’ll have to see how she does. If she can make it until after 10PM, then by all means!

  4. February 19, 2008 3:12 pm

    Shirley,

    That’s a cool way to meet a friend. I’ll try it, since I’ve had some wierd results lately with my current means of tapping on the floor of the bathroom stall with my foot.

  5. February 20, 2008 8:02 am

    HahaHaha !

    I think that Erin has a better chance of making it past 10 PM than I do. (sigh)

Trackbacks

  1. Slacker Astronomy » Angry gods to eat moon tomorrow

Leave a Reply

