Skip to content

They stole my thunder!

February 10, 2008

A couple of weeks ago, I made a cryptic comment about a medicine-based post which subsequently was never posted. I’m going to spoil the surprise, because it’s now unlikely to get posted here: I was researching a series of articled on homeopathy, starting with a history of, explaining it’s theories, and going into why homeopathy has no base in reality.

Well, I was going to start these posts the week before last, but then started catching up on a new blog which is rapidly becoming one of my favorites, Science-Based Medicine. Not only does the title of the blog use a very catchy and ingenious method of three words, two of which are hyphenated, but the premise of the blog is so simple, yet so necessary that I can’t belive I haven’t seen it done in blog form before. From the first post:

Science-Based Medicine is a new daily science blog dedicated to promoting the highest standards and traditions of science in medicine and health care. The mission of this blog is to scientifically examine medical and health topics of interest to the public. This includes reviewing newly published studies, examining dubious products and claims, providing much needed scientific balance to the often credulous health reporting, and exploring issues related to the regulation of scientific quality in medicine.

That alone should give you readers the impetus to visit them often and add S-BM to your feed readers. The five main contributors to the site have years of experience in real medicine, and are noted skeptics of pseudoscience particularly in the field of medicine.

Dr. Kimball Atwood, who is now my hero and nemesis has done exactly what I was planning with the topic of homeopathy, and did it about 1400 billion times better than I could have. If you’ve ever been curious on the topic of homeopathy or use homeopathic remedies, read the linked articles below. Everyone deserves to know that homeopathy is complete bullshit, and exactly why.

Homeopathy and Evidence-based Medicine –

Part I

Part II

Part III

Part IV

Part V

Now, I do still have a thing or two to say about homeopathy, so do look forward to that. However, I will not be recreating Dr. Atwoods work, especially since I wouldn’t be able to explain it as well. 

Also, add these Docs to your bookmarks and your feeds. They always have something incredibly interesting to say in a way that’s even easy for Americans to understand. They have been added to my blogroll.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

