Skip to content

Lay it on thick, Gomer

February 10, 2008

The primaries are exiting this year for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is the fact that we are almost at the end of 8 years of an incredibly stupid leader. Hope is in the future, then you read this comment in a CNN article:

“I know the pundits, and I know what they say: The math doesn’t work out,” Huckabee said Saturday morning at the Conservative Political Action Conference in Washington. “Well, I didn’t major in math, I majored in miracles. And I still believe in those, too.”

While I realize this was very likely something Huck said to get a cheap pop from the audience, it’s things like this that turn my stomach because of the  “I’m proud of my ignorance” attitude that pervades a certain group of the American faithful. This attitude is the one that lets people say that this country was founded on Christianity, that you can’t have freedom without religion, that we should modify the Constitution to be in line with god’s law, and that we can go to war because god told us to. Politicians like Huckabee make me fear for the future of freedom in this country, and it’s because of his willful ignorance, and because he values his faith more than he does the ideals of this nation.

And he’s proud of that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

