Skip to content

Thoughts inspire a letter

February 9, 2008

Anyone who has been around for the past year will know that every once in a while I think of weird shit. Often, I can keep it hidden from the world, but every once in a while, I have to voice it and I lose readers. One of those odd thoughts came to me yesterday, and it made me write the following letter to Dr. Philip Plait, author of the book and website Bad Astronomy:

Phil,

I was thinking about this yesterday while reading your book, and I promise I was sober. The weird thought that occurred to me was this: If space, along with time and matter was created at the big bang, is it possible that the accelerating expansion of the universe is not really the matter of the universe moving away from the other matter at an accelerating rate, but instead of the continuing and increasing rate of the creation of more space separating objects in the universe?

I’m not a scientist, but a scientist fanboy, and I figure if someone is going to demolish this thought, I’d like it to be someone I enjoy reading.

Catch you later!

-Joe     

I’ll let you know if and when I get a response, as I know Phil gets a LOT of emails. In the meantime, I was wondering what you all thought, since I know I have some very smart readers. Comment and let me know how stupid this thought is! 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 4:52 pm

    Well, I did get a response from the Bad Astronomer, but realized I hadn’t asked his permission to post it and I hate to be rude. So until I hear back, I’ll just rash my own idea.

    If space was still being created and at an increasing rate, then the distances between everything would be increasing, not just the distances in between celestial objects. So, unless something that only exists in “empty” space, such as near vaccuum conditions or minimal gravitational influence, my idea is crap.

Trackbacks

  1. Outside The Perimeter: End of Conservative Era Edition « kavips

Leave a Reply

