Skip to content

Happy New Year

January 1, 2008

This has been a hell of a year in politics, both national and local, as well as personally. The Delaware bloggers have had a landmark year with some blogs gaining prominence while others have faltered. DE bloggers have had record activist exercise  and publicizing of scandal. It has been a great year for reading. In the nation, we’ve had resignation upon resignation upon resignation, a complete mess of Presidential candidates, two shambles of wars, and a flailing President. Heartening stuff.

Personally, this has been a pretty rollercoaster year. Started off great with the birth of my second daughter, and went downhill with work defeats and health issues including sleep apnea, horrid back problems, and high cholesterol. However, at the very end of the year, I can always count on a high note. See, it was six years ago on the 12/31 that I met my wife and began what can only be described as the beginning of my real life. No matter what issues I have during the year, I can ponder how wonderful my life has become because I went to a party that I didn’t really want to attend in the first place. All the bad things dissolve on the last day of the year because I can reflect on a chance meeting that forever changed my life for the best.

I love you, Meggie, more and more every day.

I hope everyones New Years are as amazing as mine are every single year.

(h/t to PZ Meyers for the video idea)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Willing permalink
    January 1, 2008 4:09 pm

    Joe, now we know a bit more about your abandonment of MBA blog. Sorry to know of your health problems, whew, it sounds like you need to go towards a more vegetarian diet and a bit more exercize (my person NY resolutions!).

    Glad to have you back on line with some regularity.

  2. January 1, 2008 4:54 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. Right now, I’m working on letting go of some of the things that I won’t miss too much (half and half in my coffee, for instance) and regulating my eating schedule with healthier food. It’s going to be a process, but I’ll get through it.

    PS – I didn’t have to unspam your comment, so maybe the wordpress thing is fixed.

  3. Meggie permalink
    January 1, 2008 7:51 pm

    Imagine my surprise when I was adding your blog to Mom’s favorites when I gandered at this post. Thanks for the wonderful shout out! Something definitely brought us together that night because I almost didn’t go to the party either, but I really am glad that I did. If I hadn’t, I may never have found the happiness that I have since the day, six weeks after our chance meeting that you asked me to marry you. Some may have felt that we were crazy and maybe rushing it, but to them I say, with all intents and purposes of being as childish as possible….NANNY, NANNY, BOO, BOO…….couldn’t be happier if I tried. In fact, I reiterate the question that a friend and I were discussing just the other day. “If you knew then what you know now about your husband, would you marry him again?” While there may be a sad 78% of women polled with that same question that said no, I give a resounding, “YES!” Sure we’ve had our struggles, anything worth fighting for has some turmoil from time to time, but all in all, these have been the best six years of my life and nearly five years of them being married. I love you, Joey, broke down body and all! Smooches and hugs!

  4. January 2, 2008 1:19 pm

    Wow, hard to follow that comment

    Trying hard to put two and two together, does that mean that your family celebrates an anniversary and birthday the same week?

    Just let me add, based on the quality of your posts, the treatment seems to be working.

  5. Meggie permalink
    January 2, 2008 1:29 pm

    Kavips,

    I would whole-heartedly agree with you that the treatment is working wonders for him and the quality of his posts, IMHO, have been absolutley astonishing. I mean, I always knew he was incredibly intelligent, but the last few posts have become something of an aphrodisiac….there is just something so sexy about intelligence and the ability to express it.

    As to the anniversary and birthday question…no, we were engaged Feb. 22, married April 12 of the following year, and our second daughter was born last Feb. 11…..but in the end it all comes out as the times of the most happiness, so the actual dates are much more inconsequential than the actual days…..

    Happy New Year to you!

  6. Nancy Willing permalink
    January 2, 2008 2:19 pm

    er, Joe be one lucky SOB! Hey Meggie, shout out to you!

  7. Nancy Willing permalink
    January 2, 2008 2:20 pm

    oh and yes, am am officially despammed, Thanks!

  8. January 2, 2008 3:21 pm

    I had something to say, but your comment struck me speechless. Thanks, hon!

  9. Meggie permalink
    January 2, 2008 6:15 pm

    Damn….if all it takes is telling you I think you’re sexy to shut ya up…I wish I’d figured that out years ago…. LOL. J/K.

    You know I love you more than my luggage!

    I love you!

  10. January 2, 2008 6:39 pm

    At least now I know I don’t have to get rid of the luggage.

Leave a Reply

