Skip to content

Happy Holidays

December 24, 2007

It’s a little late for Hanukkah and a little early for Kwanzaa, but I think I cut it pretty well.

This year, I am working on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. It sucks. I’d much rather be spending it with my family, but as it turns out in my position, we’re a 24 hour shop and someone has to work. I’ve been lucky enough to have every other Christmas off in my time here, and it’s time to give the other folks a chance to spend a merry day instead of being stuck in this shithole. The only thing that makes it worth being here is the fact that I know I have a loving family to go home to and some good friends here,  and that’s kept my heart warm enough while I wait for my time to celebrate.

As it always happens this time of year, folks get up in a tizzy about some kind of “War on Christmas”. It’s very hard for me to take this minuscule controversy very seriously, even despite my fairly strong views on anything religious. Even though this has been a holy time of year from times well before the Christians, this has become a cultural holiday just as much a it has been a religious holiday. What people tend to forget is that, apart from the raging consumerism that grips us at this time of year, the virtues of charity, kindness, and love are celebrated across the gulf between the religious (all of them) and secular faces of this season. Everyone should be celebrating the positive facets of being human, and this is as good a time as any to do it.

The War on Christmas that people tend to cling to so tightly denigrates every aspect of what we should be lauding about being human. Instead of resenting when someone tells you “Happy Holidays”, you should be touched that someone sends you their well-wishes. Instead of complaining about someones gaudy nativity on their lawn, you should recognize that the folks in that house are embracing their loved ones just as you are. Instead of crying to put Christ back in Christmas, find the common ground that we are all trying to celebrate at this time of year. Anyone who is buying into this media-concocted war instead of just being extra nice to each other and trying to find that common ground of charity, love, and kindness should be ashamed of themselves.

People of all beliefs secular and religious should recognize how lucky we are to have this one thing in common, because there aren’t many like it. So, my sincerest advice to everyone is this: shut the fuck up and have a lovely holiday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meggie permalink
    December 25, 2007 6:33 pm

    So succinctly put, my love.

Trackbacks

  1. Ron Paul and Separation « Merit-Bound Alley

Leave a Reply

