Skip to content

Think a $400 haircut is bad?

July 17, 2007

How about $300 on makeup?

Will this make Mrs. Mitt the first woman president?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2007 4:54 pm

    Mitt Romney recorded $300 in payments to a California company that describes itself as “a mobile beauty team for hair, makeup and men’s grooming and spa services

    What are we becoming? Is the media truely dictating us? Is the Presidential race just an overly-long episode of Survivor?

  2. July 18, 2007 4:58 am

    Shirley, it seems to me that while normal life may be an episode of Survivor, the presidential races are more like an episode of Queer Eye.

  3. Ed T. permalink
    July 18, 2007 7:41 am

    Well if it worked for Kennedy back in 1959, then it might make a difference today. Kennedy was the first presidential candidate to accept make-up in a televised debate and even though the radio voice of America at the time thought that Nixon had a better political voice, the television viewers thought that the “bright faced and cheery” looking JFK was much more human than the pasty Tricky Dick.

    Sad that we live in such an image conscious world, I cringe every time my 4 year old tells me that she wants to wear make-up because it makes her feel pretty…

  4. July 18, 2007 9:16 am

    “Sad that we live in such an image conscious world, I cringe every time my 4 year old tells me that she wants to wear make-up because it makes her feel pretty…”

    I cringe as well. I know you’ll take care of that, Ed. I am 53, and the cracks and crinkles are starting to pour in, but to my Dad I am the grooviest “girl ” in the world.

    I have never watched Survivor or Queer Eye, but have heard of them. Just doesn’t seem like a good use of my time.

Leave a Reply

