Skip to content

A little fun before I head to Legislative Hall today

June 30, 2007

Last night, Meg and I ditched the kids with my father-in-law and his partner and went to see Video Games Live at the Kennedy Center in DC. We first had a couple of drinks at the Watergate, and discussed some plans for the future, then headed on the the beautiful concert hall where we saw the National Symphony Orchestra play some of my favorite pieces from games, both old and new.

Many may feel differently, but when I play a game, one of the first things that strikes me and can make or break a game experience is the music. In the last 10 years or so, technical advancements in gaming have allowed music to evolve from primitive bleeps and bloops to huge orchestral pieces of amazing depth and wide dramatic scope. It’s not hard anymore to argue against those who protest the burgeoning artistic merit of the video game industry.

Long story short, Video Games Live was an amazing experience and it was thoroughly enjoyed by both Meg and me. I highly recommend this experience to anyone!

In other news, I will be heading to Legislative Hall this afternoon for an evening of startling revelations, threats, and possible bodily harm visited upon someone by our resident Legislative Hothead, John Daniello.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

