Skip to content

YES!!!!

June 14, 2007
tags:

Liberalgeek caught it first, but what an awesome win!

The Massachusetts legislature has defeated a bill to make same-sex marriage unconstitutional by a vote of 151 to 45!

Folks, when a governmental body makes such a stand for the rights of a minority group, this is nothing short of an opportunity to rejoice, sing, and dance!

Mass. Legislature, you are nothing short of heroes! Thank you for taking a stand for a community that want nothing more than to be seen as equal in the eyes of the law!

Folks, it’s nothing short of miraculous that there is something that the government does that is so good, so fair, for its people that is deserves celebration. Take a moment tonight to reflect on the pure justness, the equality that the Massachusetts Legislature has stood up for and soak it in, and feel the satisfaction of one government body out there that is doing its work for all of its people!

PS: I want to hear if you’re as jazzed about this as I am. Post, fuckers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2007 10:00 am

    Especially when you consider that SB 141 is raising the question of equal rights for gays here in Delaware, I think it’s incredibly important (not to mention well-timed) that Massachusetts has (effectively) made a resounding statement on the matter. Delaware can never hope to achieve the level of liberalism that Massachusetts has reached… but we can still make an effort.

  2. June 22, 2007 11:15 am

    I’d hate to see any resident of Delaware be so defeatist about such an important issue. SB141 is not totally dead, just kept hidden from sight, kinda like the Jeffrey Dahmer survivor.

    The simple fact is, as time goes merrily forward, we’re seeing the same crushing defeats for equal rights, but we’re also seeing more wins.

  3. June 22, 2007 2:41 pm

    I am most likely misinterpreting here, but am I the defeatists in question?

  4. June 22, 2007 3:44 pm

    Well, I feel I’m on the edge of offending someone when I honestly didn’t mean to. However, I will answer you by saying “Yes…kinda.”

    While I wasn’t calling you a defeatist, the statement “Delaware can never hope to achieve the level of liberalism that Massachusetts has reached…” is defeatist. So, while you may not be a defeatist, with that statement you were being defeatist.

    I agree that is is very easy to be discouraged, but I do think and hope that Delaware will meet and even one day exceed the level of equal rights support that MA has.

  5. June 22, 2007 9:00 pm

    Haha I wasn’t offended, I just didn’t want to respond to something that wasn’t directed at me.

    I understand what you’re saying, and yes, it is pretty cynical. However, in the eternal words of Hellman, cynicism is an unpleasant way of saying the truth. I love Delaware, but it’s pretty tough too deny that Massachusetts is the most liberal of all. And Delaware doesn’t really have a reputation for being quick to reform. I certainly hope that we can someday be on par with MA… but I don’t think it will happen without some serious reform of the legislative bodies in Delaware.

  6. June 22, 2007 10:19 pm

    We may have to wait until guys like Thurman Adams lay their bones beside the rest of the dinosaurs, but the reform will come.

Leave a Reply

