Skip to content

A Happy New Year

January 1, 2007

We’ve all had something to be thankful for this year. If you haven’t then it’s been a pretty shitty year for you, and I’ll buy you some coffee. For me, life has shown an unprecedented turn when I realized that the world at large has a significant effect on my personal happiness. You may have seen some of my previous articles on James Vaughn and open government, Joe Wise and not criminal (apparently) misuse of taxpayer funds, or Nick Manolakos and his family’s desire for me to park their car.

In 2006, I realized that I give a shit about how the world is run, how Delaware is run, and found some decent ways in which I can help forward what I think is right for our state and for our country. I also realized that the best way for me to return that is not via a completely politically-themed blog. An important lesson that I learned is that there are people out there that are far better able to get important points of view across, and I also learned that I often have little new to add. I guess that’s one of the downfalls of most of the influential political blogs being more liberal in slant.

Now, this doesn’t mean that I won’t ever write politics. No, you fuckers aren’t that lucky. However, I will not feel obligated to cover the stories that the other sites are beating to death, such as the John Atkins thing. Yes, I’m horrified that the bastard was able to flash unimportant credentials and get out of a night in the dryer, but I also realize that I’m not in the least surprised and I probably won’t be, unless Jason, Mike, or Dana reveal that Mr. Atkins was able to evade capture through the use of a Cloak of Invisibility or a Boo Sheet.

I realized that, while I’m pissed that Mr. Atkins was able to play a Monopoly card to evade charges, I don’t really give a shit about the gory details of his drunkenness and him grabbing his wife’s arm. I don’t care because, if I wasted my energy on caring about those details and the myriad of others that have brought this further into the abyss, I’d be no better off in my position in life. Scandals don’t interest me in the slightest, except as how they directly influence my life or those that I love. Frankly, I just can’t be bothered.

So, this breeds the question of what do I write about? Well, the same crap I normally write about, but where I’ve normally limited myself to political writing or silence, I’ll replace the silence with what I know: living in Delaware and in the USA. Am I going to swear off politics? Hell, no. There’s hardly anything that affects our lives more than the law and those that create, interpret, and enforce it. Plus, I love that crap.

So, in summary of this irritatingly rambling post, please have a happy new year and check back for a top 10 of 2006.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2007 9:54 am

    I think you are taking the right approach Joe. We should all look for the places to best add our voices. Like you, I am content to let the politi-bloggers take the lead on things like the Adkins situation. I’ll dip my oar into those waters where appropriate, but I like to see the Delaware blogosphere as a wide field of interest, rather than as an echo chamber.

    Happy new year to you! I look forward to reading M-BA in 2007.

  2. January 2, 2007 1:07 pm

    Do what your heart tells you, friend, you have what it takes to make a difference and the friends you have made through the process already bears that out!
    Happy 2007!

  3. Ed T permalink
    January 3, 2007 1:10 pm

    I’ll take cream and sugar in my coffee please…

Leave a Reply

