Skip to content

Partisanship

November 1, 2006

I know I’ve been fairly light on well-thought-out posting lately, but life gets in the way sometimes. However, one thing has been on my mind lately , and that is what this post is about. It’s rare that the the word “partisanship” is used by me without the qualifier “blind”, but I’ve heard some different views from a couple of folks that has shone a new light on the subject.

The people that I have listened to about this have had a party affiliation for so long that it actually meant something when they put on the hat. They see the Republicans as Lincoln, Teddy Roosevelt, and Ronald Reagan; or they see the Democrats as FDR, Truman, and Kennedy. I got into following politics fairly recently, which probably shows, so my views of the parties are, to paraphrase my friend Tyler Nixon, pygmies in the shadows of giants.

For me, the parties when they do anything, tend to be a blindfold for the people. They define a strict and rigid line, which in the past few years is defined by “conservative” and “liberal”, “pro-bush” and “anti-bush”. This overly simplistic view has done nothing more for the people of this country than to savagely segregate us and breed ignorance. This line denies the thought process because the voters, normally thinking women and men, take up the flag of their party and are herded past rationale straight to the voting booths. This is the way I felt about any person who held a party loyalty until a couple of people worth listening to reminded me that all generalizations are wrong*.

The two that helped me see it from a different angle are Tyler Nixon and Jason from Delaware Liberal, both of whom have retained their party loyalty while realizing that they need significant improvement and are working towards that goal. This is an uphill battle, folks. Anyone who has been paying even minute attention to the blogs knows what sorry shape the Rs and Ds are in. From the iron fist of Priscilla Rakestraw to Jim Vaughn’s desk drawer, Delaware politics is a fucking mess. Anyone willing to see past that to the good old days and labor for their return are not blind, they are paladins as is every person that works toward the same goal.

I don’t have that kind of loyalty. I can’t. There’s never been a time where the parties were giants and it mattered to me. In my mind, they’ve always been pygmies. That gives me the objectivity to vote for whatever candidate is best in my eyes. I don’t have to worry about whether or not they will do well for the party. I can be totally selfish with my vote.

I’m not sure who is better off.

* heheh

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

