Skip to content

A Learning Excercise

October 21, 2006

I’ve been thinking a lot about Islam for quite a while now. My main thought on it sticks tight to, “I don’t know anything about it.” It occurred to me that a lot of people don’t know much about it, and that fact shines brightly in Internet debate.

So, I decided to take on a project to learn everything I possibly could about it and post it here on a semi-regular basis. The reasons are twofold:

1) I want to learn as much as I can about the religion that is so affecting the world. I want to be able to separate fact from lies, and be able to compose intelligent thoughts on how it is affecting the lives of so many people.
2) I’ve long suspected that most people know little to nothing about the religion. It shows in the vitriolic opposition and vague defenses that you see on the net. It’s my hope that in teaching myself, I can also help others understand this quickly-growing faith.

I want to stress again that this is also a learning exercise for me, so I won’t claim to be an ultimate source about what I post. If people see obvious error, please let me know, and if possible, supply a reliable source. I’m entering into this with complete ambivalence about the faith itself, and I seriously doubt it’s any better or worse than any other, so I will also try my best to be unbiased when stating facts, and completely opinionated when in debate.

Look here either tonight or sometime tomorrow for a glossary of terms and a basic primer on the religion itself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

